Articles Comments

New Mexico Telegram » Featured, New Mexico Senate » Senate sets committee memberships

Senate sets committee memberships

The Senate announced the memberships of their committees today after a meeting of the Senate Committee’s Committee.

The big news was Sen. John Arthur Smith, D-Deming, keeping his Senate Finance Committee chairmanship. This was expected after Sen. Mary Kay Papen, D-Las Cruces, was elected Senate President Pro Tem instead of Sen. Pete Campos, D-Las Cruces.

The Finance Committee was the lone committee not to have a freshman on its roster.

There were three new committee chairs. Sen. Peter Wirth, D-Santa Fe, will serve as chair of the Senate Conservation Committee. Sen. John Sapien, D-Corrales, will chair the Senate Education Committee. Sen. Jerry Ortiz y Pino, D-Albuquerque, will chair the Senate Public Affairs Committee.

The other committee chairmanships are unchanged.

The vice-chairs changed in most committees, as the Senate puts freshmen in that position. The exceptions were the Finance Committee and Indian and Cultural Affairs committees. Finance Committee co-chair Carlos Cisneros, D-Questa, joked that he is a 27-year freshman, calling it NorteƱo humor. The joke did not land.

Not all freshman Democrats will serve as co-chairs; there are more freshman Democrats than available co-chairmanships, Papen explained. Four years ago, Sens. George Munoz, D-Gallup, and Tim Keller, D-Albuquerque, were not co-chairs despite being freshman.

Here are the full Committee memberships:
Chair: Peter Wirth.
Co-Chair: Benny Shendo
Members: Phil Griego, Richard Martinez, Michael PAdilla, Bill Payne, John Ryan, Bill Sharer, William Soules, Pat Woods

Corporations and Transportation
Chair: Phil Griego
Co-Chair: Clemente Sancehz
Members: Joseph Cervantes, Lee Cotter, Tim Keller, Mark Moores, Michael Padilla, Sander Rue, John Sapien, William Sharer

Chair: John Sapien
Co-Chair: William Soules
Members: Craig Brandt, Lee Cotter, Gay Kernan, Bill O’Neill, Mary Kay Papen, John Pinto, Pat Woods

Chair: John Arthur Smith
Co-chair: Carlos Cisneros
Members: Sue Wilson-Beffort, Bill Burt, Pete Campos, Carroll Leavell, Howie Morales, George Munoz, Steven Neville, Nancy Rodriguez

Indian and Cultural Affairs
Chair: John Pinto
Co-chair: Cisco McSorley
Members: Stuart Ingle, Mary Kay Papeen, Cliff Pirtle, Benny Shendo, Lisa Torraco

Chair: Richard Martinez
Co-Chair: Joseph Cervantes
Members: Ron Griggs, Linda Lopez, Cisco McSorley, Bill Payne, John Ryan, Michael Sanchez, Lisa Torraco, Peter Wirth

Public Affairs
Chair: Jerry Ortiz y Pino
Co-Chair: Bill O’Neill
Members: Craig Brandt, Jacob Candelaria, Ron Griggs, Daniel Ivey-Soto, Tim Keller, Gay Kernan

Chair: Linda Lopez
Co-Chair: Daniel Ivey-Soto
Members: Jacob Candelaria, Stuart Ingle, Mark Moores, Jerry Ortiz y Pino, Cliff Pirtle, Sander Rue, Clemente Sanchez, Michael Sanchez

Written by

Matthew Reichbach has blogged about New Mexico politics since 2006. Matthew was a co-founder of New Mexico FBIHOP with his brother and part of the original hirings at the groundbreaking website the New Mexico Independent. Matthew has covered events such as the Democratic National Convention and Netroots Nation. In addition to politics, Matthew is an avid sports fan, especially of the Los Angeles Dodgers, and TV fan.

Filed under: Featured, New Mexico Senate · Tags:

Comments are closed.