Articles Comments

New Mexico Telegram » Featured, New Mexico House » Dems name Egolf Minority Leader

Dems name Egolf Minority Leader

brian egolfDemocrats named Santa Fe’s Brian Egolf as the new Minority Leader in a meeting this Saturday.

Demcocrats were put in the rare position of electing a minority leader after a disastrous election night earlier this month where the party lost control of the state House for the first time since Dwight D. Eisenhower was President and Edwin Mechem was governor.

Egolf was elected on the first ballot.

Egolf had said before the election that he would serve for just one term as Minority Leader — hoping that the Democrats would be in the majority again in two years, making the need to run again unnecessary. He said that even if Democrats stay in the minority after the 2016 elections he would not seek the position of minority leader again.

Outgoing Speaker of the House Ken Martinez had announced that he would not seek the position, citing the fact that it is a partisan position. In all, four Democrats threw their hats in the ring for the position. Egolf beat out Reps. Bobby Gonzales, Christine Trujillo and Eliseo Alcon for the leader of the minority party.

The Democrats elected Sheryl Williams Stapleton as Minority Whip and Patricia Roybal Caballero as Caucus Chair.

Williams Stapleton defeated Rep. Moe Maestas in the race for Whip. Maestas was previously the House Majority Whip. Williams Stapleton was House Majority Whip but lost the position in 2012, after she made controversial statements about Gov. Susana Martinez.

Written by

Matthew Reichbach has blogged about New Mexico politics since 2006. Matthew was a co-founder of New Mexico FBIHOP with his brother and part of the original hirings at the groundbreaking website the New Mexico Independent. Matthew has covered events such as the Democratic National Convention and Netroots Nation. In addition to politics, Matthew is an avid sports fan, especially of the Los Angeles Dodgers, and TV fan.

Filed under: Featured, New Mexico House · Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.